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MEMORANDUM

July 1,2025

The purpose of this memorandum is to outline the compensation and benefit provisions in the
2025 — 2027 Nevada Police Union Unit L Collective Bargaining Agreement (“NPU Unit L CBA”),
which becomes effective on July 1, 2025. Pursuant to NRS 288.505(1)(c) and the language in the
NPU Unit L CBA, any provision of the NPU Unit L CBA that requires the Legislature to appropriate
money is effective only to the extent of legislative appropriation. As the Legislature did not fully
fund the compensation provisions of the NPU Unit L CBA, employees in Bargaining Unit | will not
receive all of the compensation and benefits provided for in the NPU Unit L CBA. This
memorandum will outline the NPU Unit L CBA compensation and benefit provisions authorized
by the Nevada Legislature that become effective on July 1, 2025. This memorandum does not
provide a comprehensive review of the NPU Unit L CBA. This information will be provided in
training provided by the Labor Relations Unit.

It is important to note that individual departments and divisions within the Executive Department
are prohibited from providing compensation and benefits in a collective bargaining agreement
that the Nevada Legislature did not specifically authorize through AB 596 or another act approved
by the Governor during the 2025 Legislative Session. All questions regarding the applicability or
interpretation of a CBA provision should be directed to the Labor Relations Unit.

COMPENSATION or CBA NPU UNIT L CBA Authorized by the NOTES
BENEFIT ARTICLE 2025 Legislature
Line of Duty Death 8.1-8.2 Reimburse the Yes (AB 596 Section
employee's estate for 1.6).

costs up to a

maximum of twenty

thousand dollars

($20,000) for

memorial services.

Estate will receive

payment for all

accrued Annual Leave,

Comp Time and Sick

Leave.
FY 2026 Salary Increase 10.2.3 3% 1% (AB 596 Section
(effective 7/1/2025) 1.12(1)).
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FY 2027 Salary Increase
(effective 7/1/2026)
Retention Incentive

Personal Leave

Continuity of Service
Payments

Merit Pay Increase
(Step Increase)

Callback Pay

Compensatory Time

Dangerous Duty Pay

Education Pay

10.2.4

10.2.5

10.2.6

Not in CBA

10.6

10.9.1

10.10

10.11.1

10.12.1.1 -
10.12.1.4

3%

Two thousand dollars
($2,000.00) per fiscal
year.

Effective July 1, 2025,
employees covered
under this Agreement
will be credited with
two (2) Personal
Leave day equal to
their regularly
scheduled work

shift to be taken
during the fiscal year.
This Personal Leave
day must be taken in
full day

increments and has
no cash value.

Paid pursuant to NRS
284.177.

Paid to qualifying
employees pursuant
to Article 10.6.
According to NAC
284.214.

According to NAC
284.250. Maximum
accrual is two
hundred forty (240)
hours.

According to NAC
284.208.

Employees with an
Associate’s Degree
may receive six
hundred dollars
($600.00) per fiscal
year.

Employees with a
Bachelor’s Degree or
Nevada Management
POST Certificate may
receive one thousand
two hundred dollars
($1,200) per fiscal
year. Employees who

1% (AB 596 1.12(1)).

$1,000 per fiscal
year in four equal
installments
throughout the fiscal
year (AB 596 Section
1.6(4)).
Yes (AB 596 states
that Personal Leave
days do not require
funding in Section
1.10(2)).

Yes.

Yes.

Yes.

Yes.

Yes.

May not be
combined (e.g,
Associates +
Bachelor’s).

Yes (AB 596 Section
1.6).



Holiday Pay

Holiday Premium Pay

Overtime Pay

Special Adjustments to
Pay

Uniform Allowance

Footwear Allowance

Annual Leave
Carryover

Union Leave

10.13.1

10.13.2.1

10.14

10.15

10.19.2

10.19.3

11.2.1

15.6.1

are required to have a
Bachelor’s Degree as a
minimum
classification for their
job classification do
not qualify.
Employees with a
Master’s Degree or
Nevada Executive
Certificate shall
receive one thousand
five hundred ($1,500)
per fiscal year.

Regular hourly rate of
pay for hours
they are scheduled to
work on a designated
holiday even though
they do not work
In addition to Holiday
Pay, employees that
work on a holiday are
paid at their regularly
hourly rate for the
regularly scheduled
work hours.
According the NRS
284.
Five percent (5%).
Includes Bilingual Pay,
Critical Incident
Response Team, FTO,
Honor Guard,
Instructor, K-9,
Motors, PIO and Task
Forces
One thousand four
hundred dollars
($1,400) per fiscal
year.
Two hundred fifty
dollars ($250.00) per
biennium
Maximum of four
hundred eighty (480)
hours of banked
Annual Leave.
One thousand (1,000)
hours per fiscal year.

Yes.

Yes.

Yes.

Yes (AB 596 Section
1.6).

Yes (AB 596 Section
1.6).

Yes (AB 596 Section
1.6).

Yes.

Yes. (AB 596 states
that Union Leave does
not require funding in

Section 1.10(2)).






